When removing a server from the topology, the remaining servers need to be made aware of the change. If additional servers are offline and cannot be online while removing the server, you must distinguish between offline servers that are offline permanently and those that are offline temporarily.
If servers are offline permanently, use remove-defunct-server to remove them. If servers are offline temporarily, they update automatically after they are online.
- To remove a server from the topology:
- To remove a server that is online, run dsreplication
disable from any server.
$ bin/dsreplication disable --hostname austin03.example.com --port 1389 \ --baseDN dc=example,dc=com --adminUID admin --adminPassword password \ --no-promptNote:
If the server to remove is online, only one invocation of dsreplication disable is necessary.
- To remove a server that is offline, run
remove-defunct-server in the following locations:
- From any server not being removed from the topology
- On the offline server to be removed
$ bin/remove-defunct-server --serverInstanceName austin01 \ --bindDN "cn=Directory Manager" --bindPassword passwordTip:
To speed up the process of removing multiple servers, change the default 10-minute timeout for each server you are taking out of rotation by setting the Java virtual machine (JVM) property
com.unboundid.connectionutils.LdapResponseTimeoutMillisbefore you run remove-defunct-server.
- To remove a server that is online, run dsreplication disable from any server.
To remove any topology references, run the remove-defunct-server
tool on each server that is removed from the topology.
$ bin/remove-defunct-server --performLocalCleanup --no-promptNote:
The --ignore-online option removes an online server cleanly from the topology.