The files in config/velocity should not be modified. They are updated when the product is updated.
By default, any file of the same name under <server-root>/velocity will be loaded in place of <server-root>/config/velocity. This enables the preservation of customized files after a product upgrade.
After a product upgrade, review the files in config/velocity to determine if any changes should be incorporated into customized templates.